Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Posted

What a great result for the Southampton Cricket Team (Hampshire for those east of here) brilliant fielding and what entertainment, courageous captain , congrats to all. Another πŸ† trophy  

  • Like 4
Posted
  On 16/07/2022 at 23:37, JCBSaint said:

What a great result for the Southampton Cricket Team (Hampshire for those east of here) brilliant fielding and what entertainment, courageous captain , congrats to all. Another πŸ† trophy  

Expand  

It was immense! Nail biting right to the end.....especially when the final delivery was ruled as a "no ball" after the fireworks and celebrations had started!! Well done Hampy!!

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 10:16, miserableoldgit said:

It was immense! Nail biting right to the end.....especially when the final delivery was ruled as a "no ball" after the fireworks and celebrations had started!! Well done Hampy!!

Expand  

An incredible ending, I thought I’d seen it all in 2019 with the wold cup final and Stokes heroics in the ashes cup but this matched those for drama. 
 

Incredible of Ellis to compose himself and hold his nerve at the end after thinking they’ve won it.
 

 

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 13:06, AlexLaw76 said:

Listening to 5Live and there is a view that the umpires cocked up and Hampshire should not have won.

Expand  

The view is bollocks.

Lancashire's claim is based on the theory that they would have run twice when the ball went straight to the wicketkeeper. I doubt whether this has ever happened in any game of cricket ... ever.

Bad losers. 😁

 

  • Like 2
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 13:06, AlexLaw76 said:

Listening to 5Live and there is a view that the umpires cocked up and Hampshire should not have won.

Expand  

There was also a claim that, in the penultimate over of Hampshire's innings, Lancashire only had 3 fielders inside the circle.

  • Like 3
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:32, Tamesaint said:

The view is bollocks.

Lancashire's claim is based on the theory that they would have run twice when the ball went straight to the wicketkeeper. I doubt whether this has ever happened in any game of cricket ... ever.

Bad losers. 😁

 

Expand  

Oh dear.

The claim is that the field was changed after the no ball which it shouldn't have been. I don't believe this was checked as it would have been declared another no ball and they would have had one more to bowl.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:32, Tamesaint said:

The view is bollocks.

Lancashire's claim is based on the theory that they would have run twice when the ball went straight to the wicketkeeper. I doubt whether this has ever happened in any game of cricket ... ever.

Bad losers. 😁

 

Expand  

Something about the fielders not being in the same position when the free ball was bowled, meaning another no-ball

Also, about the runs, apparently the fielders just started to celebrate, whilst the batsman completed 2 runs.....

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:36, Weston Super Saint said:

Oh dear.

The claim is that the field was changed after the no ball which it shouldn't have been. I don't believe this was checked as it would have been declared another no ball and they would have had one more to bowl.

Expand  

That's rubbish - they spent about 5 minutes before the final ball was bowled attempting to get it right and the umpires were happy. Again, that just stinks of being bad losers; and the fact that the commentators and/or so-called experts were entertaining that view is just a sign of bias. I felt all the way through that there was significant bias towards Lancashire. They were praising Lancashire until the match started to turn and when it did they just criticised the Lancashire bowling or cited 'luck'.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:38, AlexLaw76 said:

Something about the fielders not being in the same position when the free ball was bowled, meaning another no-ball

Also, about the runs, apparently the fielders just started to celebrate, whilst the batsman completed 2 runs.....

Expand  

They only completed the 2 runs after the umpires said that the ball was dead. That is normal when the batsman's stumps are broken by the fielding team. 

There was a similar fielding issue when Lancashire were bowling. They should have had 4 fielders "inside the circle" on the last ball of the 19th over. They only had 3 allowing them to have an extra fielder in a run saving position. 

As I said - bad losers.

  • Like 2
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:48, Tamesaint said:

They only completed the 2 runs after the umpires said that the ball was dead. That is normal when the batsman's stumps are broken by the fielding team. 

There was a similar fielding issue when Lancashire were bowling. They should have had 4 fielders "inside the circle" on the last ball of the 19th over. They only had 3 allowing them to have an extra fielder in a run saving position. 

As I said - bad losers.

Expand  

It was the commentators not Lancashire complaining (as far as what I was listening).  Just commenting on the umpires may have got it wrong

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:45, SaintJackoInHurworth said:

 the fact that the commentators and/or so-called experts were entertaining that view is just a sign of bias. I felt all the way through that there was significant bias towards Lancashire. They were praising Lancashire until the match started to turn and when it did they just criticised the Lancashire bowling or cited 'luck'.

Expand  

Exactly. 

Radio 5's coverage was amazing. They were constantly blowing smoke up Lancashire's arse seemingly unaware of Hampshire 's record of defending low scores in big matches Eg The quarter final at Trent Bridge last season. 

The injured Lancashire bowler Mahmood was one of the summarisers without a Hampshire "counterbalance". Imagine the outcry on here if Saints were to play Liverpool in the cup final and the only summariser was the injured Jordan Henderson. 

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:52, AlexLaw76 said:

It was the commentators not Lancashire complaining (as far as what I was listening).  Just commenting on the umpires may have got it wrong

Expand  

The Lancashire captain Dane Vilas spent ages after the match complaining to the umpires.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:52, AlexLaw76 said:

It was the commentators not Lancashire complaining (as far as what I was listening).  Just commenting on the umpires may have got it wrong

Expand  

Their skipper was whinging on. They lost fair and square end of. Like TS said bad losers that couldn’t win when they were 70+ for  1 in the 8th.

  • Like 1
Posted (edited)
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:01, Toadhall Saint said:

Remind me what we’re you banned for before?

Expand  

Just commenting on a cricket thread about what was being said by a couple of pundits on 5live. 

I offer my apologies if it offends you that pundits were discussing this on national radio

Edited by AlexLaw76
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:04, AlexLaw76 said:

Just commenting on a cricket thread about what was being said by a couple of pundits on 5live. 

I offer my apologies if offends you that pundits were discussing this on national radio

Expand  

To be fair, it wasn't just "pundits" also ex England players and even an ex England captain during the break in todays ODI.

Although it still stands that Lancashire are sore losers. To try and claim that is why they lost when they should have won by a massive margin is bollocks. They lost their bottle and the shiny trophy.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:57, AlexLaw76 said:

I had no idea, just commenting on pundits chatting about the topic.  Calm down

Expand  

I am completely calm.

If you want to regurgitate bollocks expect to be slapped down. If you don't like being corrected don't regurgitate bollocks.

 

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:13, Tamesaint said:

I am completely calm.

If you want to regurgitate bollocks expect to be slapped down. If you don't like being corrected don't regurgitate bollocks.

 

Expand  

Corrected at what? I have not given an opinion on this? If an ex-England skipper is wrong, tell them, not me!

Posted

Wasn't there a 7 ball over towards the end of Surrey's run chase to beat Yorkshire last week, where they scored off the 7th ball. Why don't Hampshire get in the media complaining that the umpires got THAT wrong ?

Regardless of field placings, where it appears the umpires may have got 1 ball wrong in each innings, there is no way you can run 2 to the keeper, especially after the non-striker has gone 10 yards past the stumps running the first, and the keeper has run to the stumps with the ball as he did so. The second "run" would have been the easiest run out in history had they attempted it.

 

  • Like 2
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:26, badgerx16 said:

Wasn't there a 7 ball over towards the end of Surrey's run chase to beat Yorkshire last week, where they scored off the 7th ball. Why don't Hampshire get in the media complaining that the umpires got THAT wrong ?

Regardless of field placings, where it appears the umpires may have got 1 ball wrong in each innings, there is no way you can run 2 to the keeper, especially after the non-striker has gone 10 yards past the stumps running the first, and the keeper has run to the stumps with the ball as he did so. The second "run" would have been the easiest run out in history had they attempted it.

 

Expand  

And let’s not ask about the caught behind that feathered the bat with a non flat line on ultra edge that wasn’t given. 

  • Like 1
Posted (edited)
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:37, Toadhall Saint said:

And let’s not ask about the caught behind that feathered the bat with a non flat line on ultra edge that wasn’t given. 

Expand  

The Hampshire fielders were pointing up at the big screen and telling the batsman that he had hit the ball.

Edited by badgerx16
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:40, badgerx16 said:

The Hampshire fielders were pointing up at the big screen and telling the batsman that he had hit the ball.

Expand  

I know. Umpire gave it not out after the review - that happens in any other game and the batsman is out. Can you imagine that happening in an ashes test match? There would be uproar.

Posted

If you watch the Sky highlights, the very last ball goes through to the keeper who runs up and smashes the wicket. He then sees the Lancs batter turning to run back down the wicket, so the keeper runs the length of the wicket, smashes those stumps and gently lobs the ball to the umpire. End of game.

The only complaint Lancs could have is whether or not the Hants fielders were in the same fielding positions for the retaken No Ball but the umpires were happy at the time. And in any case Lancs should have been punished earlier for not having the correct amount of fielders in the circle during Hants innings. 

Sore losers!

  • Like 3
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:16, AlexLaw76 said:

Corrected at what? I have not given an opinion on this? If an ex-England skipper is wrong, tell them, not me!

Expand  

So you have no opinion on this yet you come on the forum to wind up the Hampshire fans who are "enjoying the. moment'.

Tell me, honestly. When you were at school did you find that you were getting your head kicked in an awful lot? 😁😁😁

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 14:55, Tamesaint said:

The Lancashire captain Dane Vilas spent ages after the match complaining to the umpires.

Expand  

He appeared to be bending Vince’s ear about it during the presentations too. He should take a leaf out of Vince’s book and stay calm under pressure rather than sitting with his head in his hands or biting his nails like he did before he went in to bat.

  • Like 2
Posted

Just to be clear, on the 'wrong' field being set for the no-ball on the last ball; there is no penalty if the field is incorrect, it is simply up to the umpires to check the field is the same before allowing the game to proceed. Therefore, it would NOT have been a second no-ball.

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:00, Graffito said:

He appeared to be bending Vince’s ear about it during the presentations too. He should take a leaf out of Vince’s book and stay calm under pressure rather than sitting with his head in his hands or biting his nails like he did before he went in to bat.

Expand  

Sadly they (he) just came across as bad losers. Hampshire posted a low total which Lanky should have beaten reasonably easily. They didn't and paid the price.

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:48, Toadhall Saint said:

I know. Umpire gave it not out after the review - that happens in any other game and the batsman is out. Can you imagine that happening in an ashes test match? There would be uproar.

Expand  

Technically the TV umpire didn't give it 'not out' after the review.  He decided there wasn't 'overwhelming' evidence to overturn the on-field umpires call of not out.  He's got a point to be fair. [/MLG mode].

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:05, badgerx16 said:

Just to be clear, on the 'wrong' field being set for the no-ball on the last ball; there is no penalty if the field is incorrect, it is simply up to the umpires to check the field is the same before allowing the game to proceed. Therefore, it would NOT have been a second no-ball.

Expand  

That's not how Nasser Hussain described it during the break in the ODI today....  He stated that if the field wasn't exactly how it was for the first no ball, then it would have been called a second no ball.  Seems like nit-picking though as the umpires gave the go ahead.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:58, Tamesaint said:

So you have no opinion on this yet you come on the forum to wind up the Hampshire fans who are "enjoying the. moment'.

Tell me, honestly. When you were at school did you find that you were getting your head kicked in an awful lot? 😁😁😁

Expand  

Oh.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 15:55, SaintH said:

If you watch the Sky highlights, the very last ball goes through to the keeper who runs up and smashes the wicket. He then sees the Lancs batter turning to run back down the wicket, so the keeper runs the length of the wicket, smashes those stumps and gently lobs the ball to the umpire. End of game.

The only complaint Lancs could have is whether or not the Hants fielders were in the same fielding positions for the retaken No Ball but the umpires were happy at the time. And in any case Lancs should have been punished earlier for not having the correct amount of fielders in the circle during Hants innings. 

Sore losers!

Expand  

He also took the stump out of the ground at the non striker's end and touched the ball against it, just for good measure.  Had they run, it would have been the easiest run out call in history.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:08, AlexLaw76 said:

Oh.

Expand  

I bet you were fun at school on Monday 3 May 1976 (if you were old enough) explaining to everyone that Stokes was offside when he scored. After all Buchan, the Scotland captain claimed that he was. 😁😁😁

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:18, Tamesaint said:

I bet you were fun at school on Monday 3 May 1976 (if you were old enough) explaining to everyone that Stokes was offside when he scored. After all Buchan, the Scotland captain claimed that he was. 😁😁😁

Expand  

You seem to think I agreed with the points raised.  

Odd

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:06, Weston Super Saint said:

Technically the TV umpire didn't give it 'not out' after the review.  He decided there wasn't 'overwhelming' evidence to overturn the on-field umpires call of not out.  He's got a point to be fair. [/MLG mode].

Expand  

He gave it not out. The commentators decided it wasn’t overwhelming?

Posted

I started this topic, blimey can’t believe all the controversy!! End of day We won! Everyone can bitch bout this or that, I thought we were well below par batting, they should of managed to get the runs, they didn’t!! Let’s just enjoy sone silverware … county championship aswel? Would be a great double… 

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:07, Weston Super Saint said:

That's not how Nasser Hussain described it during the break in the ODI today....  He stated that if the field wasn't exactly how it was for the first no ball, then it would have been called a second no ball.  Seems like nit-picking though as the umpires gave the go ahead.

Expand  

The Playing Conditions for the T20 Blast only say that the field for a free hit should remain unchanged unless, (1) the no-ball was originally called for an illegal field or, (2) the batsmen somehow crossed and are oppositely handed. The wicket keeper is also permitted to change from "stood up" to "stood back". There is no mention of a sanction should such a change not be noticed, unless the change results in an illegal field placing, ie not enough fielders inside the circle.

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 16:48, JCBSaint said:

I started this topic, blimey can’t believe all the controversy!! End of day We won! Everyone can bitch bout this or that, I thought we were well below par batting, they should of managed to get the runs, they didn’t!! Let’s just enjoy sone silverware … county championship aswel? Would be a great double… 

Expand  

Amazing isn't it? Typical of this forum. If Saints won the league there would be people questioning this and that instead of basking in the glory....

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 17:06, badgerx16 said:

The Playing Conditions for the T20 Blast only say that the field for a free hit should remain unchanged unless, (1) the no-ball was originally called for an illegal field or, (2) the batsmen somehow crossed and are oppositely handed. The wicket keeper is also permitted to change from "stood up" to "stood back". There is no mention of a sanction should such a change not be noticed, unless the change results in an illegal field placing, ie not enough fielders inside the circle.

Expand  

Nasser.hussain@skysports.co.uk is your best bet, I'm just repeating what he said this afternoon - I'm assuming that an ex England captain would know the rules but feel free to correct him :)

Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 17:10, Weston Super Saint said:

Nasser.hussain@skysports.co.uk is your best bet, I'm just repeating what he said this afternoon - I'm assuming that an ex England captain would know the rules but feel free to correct him :)

Expand  

An ex England captain should respect the judgement and decisions of the match officials.

  • Like 1
Posted
  On 17/07/2022 at 17:10, Weston Super Saint said:

Nasser.hussain@skysports.co.uk is your best bet, I'm just repeating what he said this afternoon - I'm assuming that an ex England captain would know the rules but feel free to correct him :)

Expand  

Players don’t often know the rules properly , that’s why it is down to the Umpires ! Like football ! Nasser wasn’t our best captain either πŸ˜ƒ

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Γ—
Γ—
  • Create New...