Photo Editing Software

Micky

Having recently organised all of my digital photos and so decided to invest in a new camera and plumped for the Nikon D3000.

The camera is great for a DSLR starter pack, but I now find that I want to edit some of the photos - but I have no idea about which s/w pack to go for.

I am a complete novice to this sort of S/W, having only dabbled with a few nobs and buttons in things like PhotoScape, Gimp and Paint Shop Pro, without really knowing what I was doing.

Could anybody recommend a good Photo Editing Suite to start with. I don't really want to pay too much for it - certainly don't want to get into 3 figures, but would like something that is quite comprehensive and accomplished (easy to use would also be a bonus). Any help would be greatly appreciated - many thanks.

Forgot to say its Photoshop Elements 8 :)

CHeers Dan. Strangley, I was just looking at this at around half the price:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Adobe-Photoshop-Elements-7-PC/dp/B001ELK946/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=software&qid=1271957890&sr=1-2

The reviews seem to say that it's a bit of a beast of a program, could be hard for a novice to get around. Any thoughts?

What kind of editing do you need to do? Windows 7 has quite a bit built in... Also, if you want to do HDR the Photomatix is a good piece of software.

Am only starting out on the DSLR game as well having recently purchased a Canon EOS 350D...

Don't know TS...!!!! However, what I do know is that I don't really want to change OS just yet, and am currently running Vista HE. I'm just interested to see what sort of thing is possible. Now I know that you can more or less do anything with an image and basically change it beyond recognition of the original, however, thats not really what I want.

This actually started because I recently went to a wedding and took (amongst others) this photo of the bride and groom:

DSCF5368.jpg